Report of the Chair

Scrutiny Programme Committee – 9 June 2014

MEMBERSHIP OF SCRUTINY PANELS AND WORKING GROUPS

Purpose	The Scrutiny Programme Committee is responsible for appointing members and conveners to the various scrutiny panels / working groups that are established. This report advises of changes that need to be agreed.
Content	 The report relates to: Schools Performance Panel Wellbeing Performance Panel Service Improvement & Finance Performance Panel
Councillors are being asked to	approve the changes to membership detailed in the report
Lead Councillor(s)	Councillor Mike Day, Chair of the Scrutiny Programme Committee
Lead Officer & Report Author	Brij Madahar, Overview & Scrutiny Coordinator Tel: 01792 637257 E-mail: <u>brij.madahar@swansea.gov.uk</u>

1. Introduction

1.1 The Scrutiny Programme Committee is responsible for appointing members and conveners to the various scrutiny panels / working groups that are established.

2. Changes to Membership

2.1 The committee is asked to agree the following changes:

a) Schools Scrutiny Performance Panel:

REMOVE Councillor Jennifer Raynor ADD Councillor Penny Matthews

Following this change the revised Panel membership will be 12 councillors as follows:

Labour Councillors: 6

Mandy Evans	Penny Matthews
Beverley Hopkins	Hazel Morris
Fiona Gordon	Jane Harris

Liberal Democrat Councillors: 3

Mike Day	Cheryl Philpott
Paul Meara	

Conservative Councillor: 1

Anthony Colburn	

Statutory Coopted Members: 2

Sarah Joiner	Parent Governor
David Anderson-Thomas	Parent Governor

(NOTE: New Convener to be appointed)

b) Wellbeing Scrutiny Performance Panel:

REMOVE Councillor Ann Cook ADD Councillor David Lewis

Following this change the revised Panel membership will be 16 councillors as follows:

Labour Councillors: 12

Uta Clay	David Lewis
John Davies	Hazel Morris
Mandy Evans	Jennifer Raynor
Jane Harris	Paulette Smith
Yvonne Jardine	Gloria Tanner
Erika Kirchner	Ceinwen Thomas

Liberal Democrat Councillors: 2

Chris Holley	June Stanton
--------------	--------------

Independent Councillor: 1

Susan Jones	

Conservative Councillor: 1

Paxton Hood-Williams	
(CONVENER)	

c) Service Improvement & Finance Scrutiny Performance Panel:

REMOVE Councillor David Lewis ADD Councillor Philip Downing ADD Councillor Joe Hale

Following this change the revised Panel membership will be 13 councillors as follows:

Labour Councillors: 6

Philip Downing	Robert Smith
Joe Hale	Des Thomas
Jane Harris	Mark Thomas

Liberal Democrat Councillors: 4

Chris Holley	Mary Jones (CONVENER)
Jeff Jones	Cheryl Philpott

Independent Councillor: 1

Lynda James	

Conservative Councillors: 2

Anthony Colburn	Paxton Hood-Williams

5. Legal Implications

5.1 There are no specific legal implications raised by this report.

6. Financial Implications

6.1 There are no specific financial implications raised by this report.

Background Papers: None

Date: 28 May 2014

Legal Officer: Nigel Havard Finance Officer: Carl Billingsley